SATMA Awards 2017

Date: Oct 4, 2017

Winners announced


Whether you are a traditional music fan or not, everybody knows that the SATMAs are a big deal – a Glamorous awards ceremony held specifically to honour our local traditional musical talent. This year the 12th Annual SATMAs took place at Mmabatho Convention Centre in Bokone Bophirima on Saturday the 30th September 2017, and despite some initial hiccups with the programme, the evening proved to be a spectacularly glamorous one.

From Buselaphi to Nomtiti, take a look at the artists who walked away with awards on the biggest night in SA traditional music:

1. Best Male Artist/Group – Majotha

2. Best Female Artist/Group – Buselaphi

3. Best Afro Song – Bheki Nqoko

4. Best African Jazz Song – Azah

5. Best Reggae Album – Black Jaman

6. Best Praise Singer – Jessica Mbangeni

7. Best Poet – Magcwabe Imbongi

8. Best Indigenous Comedian – Hallo M

9. Best Newcomer Artist/Group – Ezendidane

10. Best Traditional Dance Group – Dithaga tsa ga Mme Halenyane

11. Best Mbaqanga Album – Sphamandla Masondo

12. Best Accapella (Isicathamiya) Album – Thee Legacy

13. Best Traditional Outfit – Zinhle Jikela

14. Best Cultural Electronic Media Journatist – Zimkhitha Manqinana

15. Best Cultural Print Media Journalist – Lulamile Feni

16. Best Cultural Exhibitor – Rolia Marope

17. Best Cultural Radio Program Loyal Listener – William Mahlangu

18. Best Traditional DJ (Community Radio) – Siyaxola Sobantu

19. Best Departent of Arts & Culture – Mpumalanga

20. Best Sepedi Album – Seremi
21. Best Tshivenda Album – Mazwale Volume 3

22. Best Xitsonga Album – Sir Jambatani

23. Best Isindebele Album – Mhlokonywa Kabungela

24. Best IsiXhosa Album – 100% Ngcobela

25. Best Setswana Album – Dinonyane Cultural Group

26. Best Indian Album – Vernon Govender

27. Best Sesotho Album – Haeso ha Ramatla No.3

28. Best Boeremusiek – Die Ventertjies

29. Best Traditional TV Program Show – Golden Circle

30. Best Maskandi Album – Amageza Amahle

31. Best Venarcular Hip Hop Song – Papzito

32. Best Traditional Music Air-Play Radio Station of the Year – Ligwalagwala FM

33. Best Traditional Music Radio Program of the Year – Lwesuka Lutfuli

34. Lasting Legacy Awards – Mtshengiseni ‘Indidane’, Busi Mhlongo, Mqgumeni, Saba Mbixane, Oliver Tambo, Stompie Mavi

35. Life Time Achievement Award – Thuso Motaung, Mzwakhe Madala Kunene, Shwi NoMtekhala,

Jabulani “HHP” Tsambo, Mahotela Queens, Blondie Makhene, Sipho Hotstix Mabuse

36. Special Award – Sthembiso “Mroza”Fakude

37. Best Song of the Year – Izindlovukazi Zikamageba

38. Best Traditional Radio Presenter of the year – Monwabisi Bangi ‘Gudla’

SATMA Awards would like to congratulate all the winners and encourage all who did not win to try again next year. We are looking forward to coming back to Bokone Bophirima next year to host the13th awards ceremony.

We apologize for the three awards that were not announced on the day due to technical reasons - Best upcoming artist, Best Radio Presenter and Best Comedian.

For any further information required about the SATMA12 winners, please contact us on or call us on 086 1000 513.


comments powered by Disqus

Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)



Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)

Complementary Content

Your Name:*

Your Email:*

Your Message:*

Enter Captcha:*