Press Release

Event Schedule

1 Dec - 2 Dec 2018   02:00 PM - 06:00 AM past event

Giyani Stadium

Giyani, Giyani, Limpopo, South Africa.

Polokwane, Limpopo Province – The 15th Munghana Lonene FM Xitsonga Music Awards (XMA) will be held on 01 December 2018 in Giyani Stadium

This year’s event, which will see nominees battling it out in 13 competing categories and will as is practice start with a Gala Dinner event on Friday 30 November 2018, this is where special awards recipients will be honoured.

There are two categories which stands out as highly contested in the upcoming awards and those are Best Xitsonga Male previously won by Eckson Maluleke that currently features Xitsonga powerhouses such as Mr. Fill-UP Giyani Stadium himself Benny Mayengani, Joe Shirimane, Mr. Post, Forget Makhahlele & the soulful Henny C. On the other hand the Best Xitsonga Most Popular Song of the Year is nothing less than a mountain for listeners who are faced with a mammoth task of choosing one of ten (10) beautifully arranged songs made and sung by some of our Xitsonga talents.

Five Special Honorary awards are again on the cards on Friday 30 November at the Gala Dinner. Recipients thereof include the late Hasani Freddy Masingi popularly known to his fans as Matshwa Bemuda who will be remembered posthumously, with Legendary Xitsonga Disco queen Esta M receiving the Living Legend award while Patson Chauke gets honoured with the Lifetime Achievement award. The Companion of Xitsonga Music will be bestowed to Tshivenda Reggae musician Colbert Mukwevho who has recently received an honorary PhD from the University of Venda. Topping the special honorary will be special recognition that goes across the eastern border to Mozambique to the legendary Xitsonga Musicians, Mr. Antonio Marcus for his contributions in composing and singing in Xitsonga.

The 2018 Xitsonga Music Awards promises nothing but a highly competitive affair in that it sees the majority of the nominees featuring in multiple categories. Xitsonga soul sensation Henny C received 5 nominations followed by Benny Mayengani, Sunglen Tshabalala, Florah Nwa Chauke & DJ Gammi ft. Xisomisani getting 3 nominations each. The likes of Joe Shirimane, Mr. Post, Khombo Shirimane, Russian Army, Pastor Lunghi Ndala & Daniel Brothers each received 2 nominations.

The awarding and festival on Saturday the 01 December 2018 is a cherry on this cake with a super appealing performance lineup featuring The president as he calls himself Benny Mayengani, Joe Shirimane General Muzka, Prince Rhangani, Dr. Thomas Chauke, Mr. Post, The Living Rock to mention but a few.

Mopani District Municipality remains the awards’ platinum sponsor while we have Greater Giyani Municipality & National Heritage Council as secondary sponsors. The 2018 awards also attracted a massive funding from National Lotteries Commission. Some of the special guests expected to attend the event includes MDM Executive Mayor Cllr. Nkakareng Rakgoale, who will give an address at the gala evening, GGM Mayor Cllr Sasavona Mathebula, BPM Mayor Cllr Pule Shayi as well as representatives from NLC & NHC.

“These awards continue to play a very critical role in improving the Xitsonga music offering and have inspired our musicians to improve the quality of their product. “ - said Munghana Lonene fm station manager, Mr. Lawrence Ubisi.

Munghana Lonene fm Marketing Manager Ms. Vongi Nkanyane is available for further clarity on the event, and she can be contacted  on 015 290 0247 or nkanyanevp@sabc.co.za


All Competitions

Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)



Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)

Complementary Content

Your Name:*

Your Email:*

Your Message:*

Enter Captcha:*